Professor Allan H Young


MB, ChB, MPhil, PhD, FRCP (Edin), FRCPC, FRCPsych

Professor Allan Young holds the Chair of Mood Disorders and is Director of the Centre for Affective Disorders in the Department of Psychological Medicine in the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience at King’s College London, United Kingdom (UK) where he is also Head of the School of Academic Psychiatry. He has held academic appointments at Oxford University; Newcastle University (latterly holding the Chair of General Psychiatry at Newcastle), University of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada, where he held the Leading Edge Endowment Fund Endowed Chair in Research in the Department of Psychiatry and was also the Director of the Institute of Mental Health and Imperial College London, where he held the Chair of Psychiatry and was Director of the Centre for Mental Health.

Professor Young’s research interests focus on the cause and treatments for severe psychiatric illnesses, particularly mood disorders. He has received research grant funding from the UK Medical Research Council, the Wellcome Trust, the Stanley Medical Research Institute, the Canadian Institutes for Heath Research (CIHR), the National Institutes of Health (USA), and numerous other funding agencies. He has published over 600 peer-reviewed publications and several books mainly about psychopharmacology and affective disorders.

Professor Young is recently ranked as one of the world’s leading scientific minds in the field of Psychiatry and Psychology, according to the Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Researchers list. In all of science, a total of over 3,000 researchers worldwide earned this distinction and the academics listed rank among the top 1% most cited for their subject field and year of publication, a mark of exceptional impact.

Professor Young is Editor in Chief of the Journal of Psychopharmacology, Deputy Editor of the British Journal of Psychiatry Open and is a member of a number of editorial boards and is a member of numerous professional and scientific societies. He is past-President of the International Society for Affective Disorders and the British Association for Psychopharmacology and Inaugural Chair of the Psychopharmacology Committee of the Royal College of Psychiatrists.

Contact us